Sign in to follow this  
wenya_dh

Need help.. something is suckin away ram NOOB HERE

Ok i just got "stat bar" which is a free download that pretty much does nothin but lets u know ur cpu's performance at the moment. Anyways when i first got it like a week ago i was suprised because on average id be using like 350/1024 of my ram when i was just sitting at the cpu and had nothin running. Now a week later on average it runs at round 450/1024?

I have used many different anti spyware devices such as spybot, spyware doctor and ad-aware, so my whole cpu is clean. I have also ran 3 diffferent virus scanners and all is good. I have nothin running in the background so somethin is up.

Oh one last thing i noticed, that beside the Ram gauge theres a c cpu% thing and it ranges from 1-3% when nothin is running but like once every 10-30 seconds it will jump to like 80 or even 100% usage for half a second.

Help me figure this out... or maybe im overreacting... but 400 mbs ram when i have nothin runnin seems quite high

You have way too many programs running in the background. You should close the ones you don't need running all the time especially Real player and Quick Time by going to the run command and typing msconfig and going to the startup tab and unchecking the programs you don't want running at boot time. You are also running two antiviruses, norton and avg. Run only one as running two can lead to problems. Your comp has plenty of "horsepower" so I recommend you use norton and disable avg.

I would disable Norton and use AVG, as Norton caused me no end of trouble. Just make sure you remove it from the registry after un-installing. I would un-install that program too.

I would take signman's advice. You should ALWAYS be wary of free software and do some research before installing anything. You can monitor your CPU usage via the task manager. You seem savy enough to know how to use it, but I'll tell you anyway. Ctrl-Alt-Delete, click on Task Manager, click on Performance.