Sign in to follow this  
mcpowhite

Optimize

Purchased optimize and it has done nothing to improve my system operation. It did make adjustments to my internet that degraded it by about 25%. I consider my purchase of Optimize as payment for my many years of utilizing pitstop.Cannot recommend this product, based on my results.

Guest jman037

Hello there!

I was a broadband Internet install technician and now work in a call center for broadband Internet as a senior technician. Back when PCPitstop had thier Internet speed autofix for free on their website, I would always run customers there to improve thier speed.

For Windows versions 95, 98 and ME, in 99.9% of the cases it increased their speed up to 3 times the previous amount. I have seen 1.5Mb/s connections hit almost 4Mb/s on a retest of download speeds after running the autofix.

Speed increases on Windows 2000 and XP were not so dramatic but were still large enough you could plainly see it.

.1% of the people I ran through that fix acutally saw their speed drop. As of yet, I have no explaination for this.

I haven't seen the other tools in the optimize package so I cannot comment on them. I do think $29.99 is pretty expensive for this package. I'd like to know what the other tools do and if they actually make enough of an impact on system performance to warrant the price of admission.

Well, I guess whether they are worth the price of admission depends on how comfortable you are with doing manual adjustments. The target audience for the product is the user that wants increased PC performance without having to become tech-savvy to do it. Many users are not comfortable with registry edits, for instance.

Anyway, here's what it does:

http://pcpitstop.com/faq/optimize.asp

Guest jman037