Sign in to follow this  
BigDog21

Cable Modem

Hi,

I'm finally upgrading from a 56k modem to a cable modem today, my question is, I've never used a cable Modem before, will I notice a big difference when connecting, surfing the web, downloading, and playing online games? I know it's faster, but how much of a difference will there be? Is there anything I should know about a Cable modem compared to a 56k modem?

thanks

BigDog

Lets just say that you won't be dissapointed.

With a 56K modem you average around a 35-45kb/s connection.

With Cable you usually get between 1500-3000kb/s

Just a slight difference ya think?

:mrgreen:

Once you Go high speed you never go back.

I just recently changed from dial up to cable. On my new Compaq machine the speed has changed incredibly. It's also great on my old Gateway but not quite as dramatic (quite an improvement just the same). :banana: :welcome:

Edited by lorriehe

everything depends on the package you got from you isp provider. i get over 2megabits on my cable, :) there are times where i can be as slow as dialup but not often. the game part i play them but not online, so i can't tell yea if you would lag. and another thing get a good firewall as your always online, and a good anti virus program. you will enjoy having cable versus dialup any day. :)

Guest thatguy

when i first got cable i could not believe the difference in speed,i had dial up with AOL, once i got cable i no longer needed AOL, and my machine was much happier because of it. the speed has since slowed down because its seems the whole nieghborhood has cable now, but there is no going back to dial up, its the way the internet should have been from day one!

Bill

LOL I agree. I had spent months downloading music on dial-up. That was just an incredible pain. 45 min for a 5Mg file. :(

My first time on Cable I downloaded something like 600 songs in just a few hours. :nuke:

My only complaint........It could be faster. :mrgreen: