Sign in to follow this  
stoneking

In order to flash my BIOS I have to extract a .CAP file

I thought I coud use win zip but a little reading makes me think I was wrong. ASUS says to extract the file, rename it and

save it to a flash drive. I thought I understood the necessary steps but I seem to be missing something.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

What file type have you downloaded - IS it a compressed file .zip, .7z, .tar etc.

Should be able to extract with winzip.

You might also need to format the flash drive to FAT for it to work.

What board model do you have?

M5A99 FX PRO 2.0. The file I downloaded shows up as a .CAP file.

The support guy I talked to said I would have to rename it a .CAP file. When I click it I get a 'what program do you wamt to use to

open this file' prompt. I'm a self-taught computer user and my teacher left a couple of big holes in my knowledge base.

You are correct- the tech also said the flash drive had to be formatted as FAT. I thought he said there would be a BIOS update file

that needed to be installed too.

have you got a link to the bios you're downloading.

according to a quick search the latest bios is version 2501 and when i click to download it, it is most definitely a .zip file.

info from here :- https://www.asus.com/uk/Motherboards/M5A99FX_PRO_R20/HelpDesk_Download/

direct download link of bios 2501 :- http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/SocketAM3+/M5A99FX_PRO_R20/M5A99FX-PRO-R20-ASUS-2501.zip

instructions on doing a bios update here :- https://www.asus.com/uk/support/FAQ/1012815/

so to recap.

1st download the .zip file.

2nd format flash drive to fat32

3rd extract .zip file and copy to the flash drive

4th turn off pc and make sure to insert flash drive

5th start pc and enter bios and use it's bios update program to update the bios with the new bios on the flash drive

and that's it done.