Sign in to follow this  
Tx Redneck

Cross-platform malware

http://thehackernews.com/2016/09/cross-platform-malware.html?m=1

Stefan Ortloff, a researcher from Kaspersky Labs Global Research and Analysis Team, first discovered the Linux and Windows variants of this family of cross-platform backdoor, dubbed Mokes, in January this year.

Now, the researcher today confirmed the existence of an OS X variant of this malware family, explaining a technical breakdown of the backdoor in a post on Securelist.

Alike the Linux and Windows variants, the OS X backdoor variant, Backdoor.OSX.Mokes.a, specializes in capturing audio-video, obtaining keystrokes as well as taking screenshots every 30 seconds from a victims machine.

The variant is written in C++ using Qt, a cross-platform application framework that is widely being used for developing applications to run on various software and hardware platforms.

Compile software religiously, I am no security expert, but from those outputs they make it look like $HOME goes to town to send off tidbits of useless information to the Ruskies, The same Ruskies who designed kaxspersky, i can see how some home directories on certain linux platforms can become such a haven, start a new account and flush the old one!

Me myself will never fall pray to such propaganda, to make me use a software that is designed to make money.

Viruses aren't free, People have jobs designing them to sell signatures, hellooooo :P

my friend always brags about his mac being virus proof...lol...

has he ever had a virus? have you? he may not be "virus proof" but i bet he's more chance winning the lottery than getting infected.

So do most Linux users...

know any linux users who have been infected? bet you have though.