Sign in to follow this  
Brian McCool

Impressed

I've been using computers for many years. Commodore Pet and Sinclair in 70s, Apple in the 80s, PCs from 90s on. I've recognized the problems with antivirus/malware programs in that I've had many of them let nasty stuff through with both free and expensive products. My latest machine, a Dell XPS 12 at just two years old has been running a little slower lately and all three browsers (IE, FF, Chrome) have been sluggish at best. I wasn't up for another round of manually removing the malware that had certainly made it past a totally up to date Windows Defender.

And I wasn't quite sure that I wanted to try PC Matic. I really hated their earlier commercials, and some of the later ones with Randy White weren't helping either. I did some research. Found a few forums run by total nerds that claim PC Matic is a scam. Read Amazon reviews where almost every negative review was followed up by PC Matic support person.

Hell, $50 for five machines with a 30 day MBG with the promise of less time dealing with issues and more time using my computer for what I bought it for sounded like a pretty good deal. Especially when you have a rig that cold boots to Windows 8.1 in about 7 seconds and then takes about 30 seconds to load a web page.

Must say that I am thoroughly impressed so far. Three viruses were found that Defender was totally oblivious to. Web pages are snapping along very quickly at speeds that I'd long forgotten were available. If my machine stays clean over the next year, I'll be happy with $50 well spent.