Sign in to follow this  
garypace

Is My Cooler Working ?

I just finished building my i7-920 box. I have a Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler on a Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 mobo. At normal frequencies, I get 68C from Core Temp (@22 ambient) during Prime95 testing. If I O/C a little bit (2.9GHz) this increases to 78C.

The cooler's fins are cold, and the heat pipes at the CPU base not much more than warm.

I have a couple of questions for the more experienced people out there :

1 - Do you think my cooler mounting is bad ? I had a "uniform and thin as I could get" layer of Arctic Silver compound and I think I tightened the cooler clamps down evenly and "snug". It would help if the cooler manufacturer specified a final tightening torque for the screws. How tight is right ?

2 - On an i7-920, what "torture" temperature would you feel OK with - normal operation is about 50C. My current PC is a Q6600 @ 3GHz which idles around 50 and tortures around 80. It has been 100% solid for about 2 years.

Any advice will be appreciated

Thanks

GP

That's waaaay too hot. Something isn't right for temps that high at that speed.

Pull it and see if it made good contact with the cpu, check your fan.

No, no, no on that core temp.

if both pc's are hot then i'd say yes there's something wrong with that cooler, or the way you apply thermal compound and fix it, maybe it's just you aren't tightening it down fully.

hot temps on both cpu's and the only common factors are you and the cooler then one or the other isn't working correctly. ;)

up to you which one you want to blame.. :lol:

got a feeling that cooler doesn't give great temps anyway with an i7, might want to try googling the combo and see what everyone else gets. :tup:

:b33r:

your q6600 idles at 50c??? with mine at 3.2 with an arctic freezer 7 my idle was 30c..... hmmm ur stuff is def running hot....

agreed :tup:

rightnow im running 3.6 on my Q6600 and my idle temps in core temp show

Core 0 - 25c

Core 1 - 25c

Core 2 - 21c