Sign in to follow this  
EclipseWebJS2

RealPlayer ... Badware?

Anyone who uses RealPlayer on occasion should get a read out of this.

http://www.lockergnome.com/blade/2008/03/2...yer-as-badware/

Over at StopBardware.org, they have posted an article which claims that the software from Real Player does not warn users about the installation of software on the users system.

Hey Jacee, what do you think about RealPlayer. Is their recent activity as bad as is being presented?

Is it any different from what Windows Media Player does?

Look, I once downloaded it because I wanted to try the "Download this Video" feature. But when Firefox 3 rolled out, that quit working. I'm quite surprised the feature still worked in IE7.

I actually use it to watch FLV video files.

shogan, since Yahoo! Music Jukebox has moved/is moving all it's clients over to Rhapsody, I've been kinda forced to use use it (in a sense). I have a premium subscription, so we'll see what happens with my 'paid' for version. I don't use RealPlayer for anything else.

shogan, since Yahoo! Music Jukebox has moved/is moving all it's clients over to Rhapsody, I've been kinda forced to use use it (in a sense). I have a premium subscription, so we'll see what happens with my 'paid' for version. I don't use RealPlayer for anything else.

Proprietary solutions suck don't they.

However you are never forced to do anything.

You and only you make the choice to use something.

If you don't like a product don't use it.

That said, I don't think Real is badware, in all honesty the label is getting ridiculously overused and being used to describe anything a person may not like.

Has anyone taken the time to read RealPlayers response to the badware label silly people are giving them.

http://www.realplayer.com/blog/