Sign in to follow this  
ilikenemo

virus moved to avast chest, but still getting problems

Hi all, my computer started to run really slow and I kept getting a box come up saying preparing to install microsoft money (some works thingy) there was a cancel option so I hit that straight away and the box comes up about 3 or 4 times before it goes and then there was some message from microsoft about closing something :blushing: I have avast so I ran it and it picked up a trojan and moved it to the chest, computer seems faster now but just had the microsoft money box again :cr@sh: I ran spybot which picked up spydawn, I was unable to remove it as I shut spybot by mistake :thud: I'll have to run it again. Any help would be appreciated :pullhair: As you can probably tell I'm not very technical :blushing: I have win xp and I use firefox, avast antivirus. I had adaware se but thats now empty since today so I've removed it.

Thanks

Julie :adios:

Edited by ilikenemo

Hi Julie, run 1-2 online scans they are free>> http://www.pandasoftware.com/products/ActiveScan.htm, and if needed another> http://www.bitdefender.com/scan8/ie.html that way you be more sure virus is gone. How did this box pop up? True microsoft shouldn't pop up like that unless you were trying to install it. Do you remember name of the trojan? Or can you access the avast chest an tell us the name of the trojan? But run the panda online av atleast an tell us what it finds/fixes. Also be good idea if you added Adaware to your security software. Its free> http://www.lavasoftusa.com/products/ad-aware_se_personal.php update it an do complete scan, let us how you make out :)

Thanks, will put adaware back on as soon as I've done a scan. Just looked in the virus chest and it says win32:trojan-gen . Is spydawn anything to do with it? I will remove it now.

Thanks

Julie