Sign in to follow this  
donnabon

Windows XP password

I hoped to never come here again...yet here I am. :help:

Anyways, lately my college roommate has been snooping around my laptop so I created a startup/login password just two nights ago to safeguard my precious.

I tried logging in, but laptop won't recognize my password so apparently, I mis-typed my password when creating one and now I can't log in.

I tried different variations of my password and I failed miserably. :thud:

After viewing your forums and topics that are relevant to my problem, I concluded I need to either reset the BIOS, boot in safe mode, or use a recovery disk.

The problem is that I don't have a recovery disk since it's 450 miles away in California and I have little to none computer knowledge so BIOS to me means ooglydoogly didawap. :mrsgreen:

I plan to boot my laptop in safe mode later today to see if it works.

Any suggestions on how to reset my laptop password without killing my data?

Ironically, my roommate's uncle owns a computer repair shop near campus called Lanes Repair, however, I would like to fix it myself before paying a hefty amount to a repairman. :bawling:

COMPUTER INFO:

Gateway® MX6441

AMD Turion® 64 mobile technology ML-34

• Genuine Microsoft® Windows® XP Media Center Edition 2005²

• 15.4" WXGA Ultrabright™ TFT

• 512MB DDR memory

• 80GB hard drive³

• Multiformat dual-layer DVD±RW drive

• 802.11g wireless LAN

• Microsoft® Windows® Vista™ Capable

*Proof that I'm computer illiterate. I found my computer's specs on Gateway's website. :clap:

Anywhos any help at all is appreciate and claps to your ongoing effort in protecting and serving our country..from viruses and whatnot.

EDIT: tried to boot in safe mode but comp still required me to input password.

Edited by donnabon

Will heed your advice slurpy...but two questions:

1. How does one go about and make a bootable floppy?