Anti-spyware/malware help links on this site - So disappointed about t

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Psychotron

Psychotron

• Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 03 November 2016 - 03:51 PM

I just noticed this feedback topic and I want to add that, as a relative novice, I decided follow the advice on the forum sticky notes to clean up my computer before I bought a new one. I'm very disappointed about how I was absolutely tricked into downloading PC Matic and running a scan that was supposed to be free. I feel taken advantage of. It is on the PCPitstop sticky note and other places that the links it gives out are for help on cleaning the computer are to free sites. After all the time it took to scan, when it showed how bad my computer is, and I click to fix it, I'm brought to a screen where I'm required to buy PC Matic before it will fix it.

I've been going here as my primary source for computer advice, and have always preferred this site out of the other computer tech forums. But now I wonder, do some moderators here have an agenda? Could they be guiding me toward suggesting I buy or something that isn't necessarily the best, but would somehow benefit PCPitstop. I've always thought highly of this site, but am now left with a bad taste in my mouth. How do I know who's telling the truth when a moderator gives me a suggestion now when I wasn't told the truth about the anti-malware sites? It makes me feel bad about this site to think that I would ask for help, not knowing anything, and a moderator told me that I have to download PC Matic, free, then scan. Then not be told I would have to buy.

The sticky notes here on PCPitstop said the multiple links they give out are to different free anti-virus, anti-malware, etc services to clean my computer, but all the links actually converted, and led, to the PCMatic site that finally gave me results showing how badly I need it to clean my computer, but would only do it if I bought the service.