Jump to content


Photo

Facebook Block

facebook block computer malware fix

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 dixiedld

dixiedld

    New Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male



Posted 25 December 2015 - 06:23 PM

I received this block from my Facebook today....

 

Your Computer Needs to Be Cleaned
1U2ftI0b2hV.png   It looks like your computer is being affected by malware. We’ll help you fix the problem to keep your account secure and prevent malware from spreading to friends.     Malware is software that tries to steal personal information and causes problems when you use Facebook. Clicking or sharing links that contain spam can give your computer malware.
 
 

When I first got it I ran a scan using PCMatic two times. When I attempted to log back on to Facebook I received this error. Facebook requires I allow TrendMicro to go in and clean my computer, which I do not feel I need to do. I had TrendMicro for approximately 7-10 years before switching to PCMatic. Has anyone else ever experienced something like this from Facebook and is there any way around it. A bigger question is what can TrendMicro clean that PCMatic has missed, and how does Facebook even know? Facebook will NOT allow me to sign in until I approve the clean.


Edited by dixiedld, 25 December 2015 - 06:23 PM.


#2 Guns

Guns

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 991 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:OK. USA


Posted 25 December 2015 - 07:51 PM

Sounds to me like your account has been hacked try running Super Anti Spyware it finds things PCMatic never does.


Guns a warrior of the past.
"I will not tip toe through life, only to arrive safely at death."


#3 dixiedld

dixiedld

    New Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male



Posted 25 December 2015 - 08:37 PM

Thanks Guns for the reply. In your opinion, should I click on the attached link from Facebook admin that initiates the clean?

 

When you say...

"try running Super Anti Spyware it find things PCMatic never does"

 

 

Can you give me more information?

Thanks



#4 caintry_boy

caintry_boy

    My new set of whiskers!

  • Moderators
  • 23,930 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kansas



Posted 25 December 2015 - 09:11 PM

That's not from Facebook. It's a scare tactic from a malware on your PC, if clicked it'll install any number of baddies onto your rig.
Do a search at majorgeeks.com for Malwarebytes and Superantispyware download and run both. Let us know how it goes.




:geezer:

Heatware
How To Post A Test
Daniel 3:25 He answered and said, Lo, I see four men loose, walking in the midst of the fire, and they have no hurt; and the form of the fourth is like the Son of God.


#5 dixiedld

dixiedld

    New Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male



Posted 25 December 2015 - 09:15 PM

Thanks caintry_boy, I will do.



#6 brownhornet

brownhornet

    SO WHAT IF I AM A NERD

  • The SWAT Team
  • 5,816 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:las vegas



Posted 25 December 2015 - 09:34 PM

i would run this as well.http://www.bleepingc...oad/adwcleaner/save to desktop and run from there..



#7 oatman

oatman

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 2,967 posts
  • Location:Goa,India


Posted 27 January 2016 - 05:35 AM

Don't use Face-:filtered:!

#8 Goodridge

Goodridge

    New Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 04 April 2016 - 03:19 AM

That's not from Facebook. It's a scare tactic from a malware on your PC, if clicked it'll install any number of baddies onto your rig.
Do a search at majorgeeks.com for Malwarebytes and Superantispyware download and run both. My site https://deadliftdonk...azy-bulk-review and my crazy bulk review show up so let us know how it goes.




:geezer:

 

Oh, God now I'm worried as I got the same message on FB and I thought it was a genuine warning from Facebook, it looked like it was on the real site. I have eset installed and it hasn't warned me of any malware or viruses yet though.


Edited by Goodridge, 01 December 2016 - 08:09 AM.


#9 Y kawika

Y kawika

    Anti-Spyware Brigade

  • Admins
  • 20,840 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Island, New York


Posted 04 April 2016 - 05:53 AM

This is a legit prompt from FB, as they have teamed with Trend Micro for this project.

 

https://www.facebook...52050305685766/

 

Chances are that FB doesn't like a tracking cookie that may be on your browser and has decided that this is enough to evoke their actions.

 

Depending on which browser you are using, just flush and if needed reset it and the prompt should leave you alone.

 

http://techtalk.pcpi...t-your-browser/

 

:) Y


Y kawika's Computers and Stuff

Post When You Want and Help When You Can..........Y


#10 Richard Smith1

Richard Smith1

    New Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 08 August 2016 - 07:46 AM

One More Thing because of some extensions the problem may occur. Keep in mind that too. 



#11 Juliet

Juliet

    Advanced Member

  • Trusted Malware Techs
  • 23,204 posts
  • Gender:Female


Posted 08 August 2016 - 03:40 PM

Emsisoft Emergency Kit

Please download Emsisoft Emergency Kit and save it to your desktop.
Double click on the EmsisoftEmergencyKit file you downloaded to extract its contents and create a shortcut on the desktop.
  • Leave all settings as they are and click the Extract button at the bottom.
  • A folder named EEK will be created in the root of the drive (usually c:\).
  • After extraction please double-click on the new Start Emsisoft Emergency Kit icon on your desktop.
  • The first time you launch it, Emsisoft Emergency Kit will recommend that you allow it to download updates.
  • Please click Yes so that it downloads the latest database updates.
  • When the update process is complete, a new button will appear in the lower-left corner that says Back. Click on this button to return to the Overview screen.
  • Click on Scan to be taken to the scan options.
  • If you are asked if you want the scanner to scan for Potentially Unwanted Programs, then click Yes.
  • Click on the Malware Scan button to start the scan.
  • When the scan is completed click the the View report button in the lower-right corner, and the scan log will be opened in Notepad.
  • Please save the log in Notepad on your desktop, and copy it to your next reply.
  • When you close Emsisoft Emergency Kit, it will give you an option to sign up for a newsletter. This is optional, and is not necessary for the malware removal process.
  • ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please do not PM me for HJT help, we all benefit from posting on the open board.
Want to help others? Join the ClassRoom and learn how.
MS - MVP Consumer Security 2009 - 2016, Windows Insider MVP 2017




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users