Jump to content


Photo

Firefox Warning Unresponsive script - What it means and how to fix it


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Corleone007

Corleone007

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:On Earth


Posted 06 July 2013 - 02:14 PM

Firefox may give you a "Warning: Unresponsive script" prompt that says "A script on this page may be busy, or it may have stopped responding. You can stop the script now, or you can continue to see if the script will complete." This article describes why this could happen and possible solutions and workarounds.

This error is telling you that Firefox thinks that a script may be running out of control and would make Firefox hang if nothing is done. The script could be something on a web page you're accessing, in an extension you installed, or even Firefox itself.

Type about:config in the address bar. Ignore warning and click I'll be careful Type script into the filter box Find dom-max_script_run_time Dbl click dom-max_script_run_time New window will open Enter 0 for integer value OK 



#2 Bright boy

Bright boy

    Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida


Posted 06 July 2013 - 04:26 PM

I sure can use  that thanks man.



#3 Corleone007

Corleone007

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:On Earth


Posted 06 July 2013 - 04:37 PM

I sure can use  that thanks man.

Your welcome...happy to be of some help...


Edited by Corleone007, 06 July 2013 - 04:37 PM.


#4 KurtBleach

KurtBleach

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 791 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NE Philly


Posted 06 July 2013 - 09:52 PM

Don't know if that's so wise. If Firefox is warning you about a script gone loco, it could be some malware. If I ever run into something like that, I'll just quit that site.



#5 nigsy

nigsy

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 4,304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:devon, england


Posted 07 July 2013 - 02:28 AM

I'm with Kurt. How do you know what script is trying to run? Enabling it could, potentially be opening the door to malware.

 

I think these errors are telling you 'it's time to switch to Chrome'


The South-West Will Rise Again

Mebyon Kernow - Voice Of Cornwall


#6 Bruce

Bruce

    Geezer

  • Grand Poobah
  • 42,800 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales Massachusetts


Posted 07 July 2013 - 06:09 AM

Does Chrome warn you about such scripts?


http://itsyourpc.org

Microsoft blew its right foot off with Windows 8.
They went to the doctor to get it reattached with Windows 8.1 only to wake up to find out that a second left foot was attached in place.


#7 Bright boy

Bright boy

    Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida


Posted 07 July 2013 - 07:55 AM

Don't know if that's so wise. If Firefox is warning you about a script gone loco, it could be some malware. If I ever run into something like that, I'll just quit that site.

Well the fix came from Mozzila help. We have to trust somebody and I did. I did on two computers and have no problems. After all you can go back and set the integer as it was if you think the change is causing a problem.



#8 nigsy

nigsy

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 4,304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:devon, england


Posted 07 July 2013 - 09:06 AM

Does Chrome warn you about such scripts?

 

 

Yes it does.

But I never let it run if it errors or thinks it may be malicious. I'd always try another website.


The South-West Will Rise Again

Mebyon Kernow - Voice Of Cornwall





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users