Jump to content


Photo

Power Outage -computer Now Slow!


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Donnac36

Donnac36

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 08 May 2005 - 04:58 PM

We had a power outage while the computer was on. Now it is running SLOW. Disk cleanup hangs. Delete temp files hangs. Takes long time to open outlook express and a long time to download each e-mail. NO diagnostic tool will work anymore. Did something get corrupted? HELP please!

#2 Chopdoc

Chopdoc

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 16,657 posts

Posted 08 May 2005 - 05:02 PM

Are you getting any errors? Can you post a Pit test? Have you rebooted? (Of course it was off during the outage but did you reboot it again?)

#3 Donnac36

Donnac36

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 08 May 2005 - 05:11 PM

No error messages but everything hangs when trying to open or close it.

Rebooted many times. Power outage was yesterday. Computer hasnt been right since.

Here are the test results:
http://pcpitstop.com...?conid=13541260

Edited by Donnac36, 08 May 2005 - 05:11 PM.


#4 Joe C

Joe C

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 18,957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northwestern Southeast Michigan


Posted 08 May 2005 - 05:17 PM

bad link for your test, read this
http://pcpitstop.ibf...techexphelp.htm

It may be a hardware issue due to the surge when the power came back on or file corruption from it shutting off

#5 Donnac36

Donnac36

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 08 May 2005 - 05:33 PM

Hope this test link is correct:
http://www.pcpitstop...0N0MWL7RXQSEDM6

#6 Null.Logon

Null.Logon

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 808 posts
  • Location:1



Posted 08 May 2005 - 05:43 PM

you have a ton of stuff running probably causing slowdowns

#7 Donnac36

Donnac36

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 08 May 2005 - 06:42 PM

All this stuff was running before the power outage and the computer was lightening fast....(no pun intended).. Can anyone help please?

#8 Chopdoc

Chopdoc

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 16,657 posts

Posted 08 May 2005 - 06:58 PM

Whether all that stuff was running before or not, I would get rid of it.

#9 Joe C

Joe C

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 18,957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northwestern Southeast Michigan


Posted 08 May 2005 - 07:02 PM

can you do a scan disk?

#10 Donnac36

Donnac36

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 08 May 2005 - 07:19 PM

I did a scan disk & a disk defrag. Got rid of all spyware. Ran virus protection. Some programs will not open. Do you know what background stuff I can get rid of and what I have to keep? Is there anyway to get this back to normal or did it get corrupted? Thanks.

Edited by Donnac36, 08 May 2005 - 07:20 PM.


#11 bfvmg

bfvmg

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 598 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:the Colorado Rockies


Posted 08 May 2005 - 07:20 PM

Check your hard ware. It may say that your RAM is all good, and the correct amount is there. But I would say off the top pof my head that you burned out something opn your motherboard... I woud start there
The truth is true, and is not changed by disbelief or wishful thinking
The voices in my head aren't real - But they do have some good ideas!
If the truth hurts, then change the facts

#12 Joe C

Joe C

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 18,957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northwestern Southeast Michigan


Posted 08 May 2005 - 07:24 PM

if it's file coruption, you can try reinstalling the progs that don't run or if they're windows files/programs then you can try a repair option
http://michaelsteven...pairinstall.htm

#13 Donnac36

Donnac36

    Member

  • Members
  • 29 posts

Posted 09 May 2005 - 06:22 PM

I got the battery back up today. Mostly a lot of programs are still hanging now. Disk cleanup wont work. IE and Outlook Express are sloooooooow.

#14 Joe C

Joe C

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 18,957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northwestern Southeast Michigan


Posted 09 May 2005 - 06:30 PM

the repair option I linked to will reinstall all of your windows files and will keep everything else intact, it will take out service pack 2 so you'll need to reinstall that too if it's not on the windows disk




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users