Jump to content


Photo

Is My Hard Disk A Ata Or A Sata I Can't Tell Lol


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 chicagobearsfan

chicagobearsfan

    Member

  • Members
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Danville, VA



Posted 10 March 2005 - 04:50 PM

http://www.pcpitstop...GXXMWSH1FQS9JE6

A coward dies a thousand deaths but a soldier dies but once!


#2 martynellison

martynellison

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 510 posts

Posted 10 March 2005 - 04:59 PM

Well i serached for the model number on google and if the pcpitstop information is correct its a SATA HDD. is it a 400GB HDD?

Edited by martynellison, 10 March 2005 - 04:59 PM.


#3 chicagobearsfan

chicagobearsfan

    Member

  • Members
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Danville, VA



Posted 10 March 2005 - 06:05 PM

yes it is

A coward dies a thousand deaths but a soldier dies but once!


#4 Bama

Bama

    Member

  • Members
  • 162 posts

Posted 11 March 2005 - 05:02 PM

If that is the case then why further down on the "disk" page does it say "DMA" for IDE Details? I thought DMA only applied to IDE disks. :huh: However, my google search gave the same specs (i.e. that it is SATA) on that drive model.

Edited by Bama, 11 March 2005 - 05:13 PM.


#5 IanG

IanG

    Ownage Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 4,967 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Minneapolis, Minnesota



Posted 11 March 2005 - 05:19 PM

Holy 400GB! By looking at the HDD speed, and this: Intel Intel® 82801EB Ultra ATA Storage Controllers I conclude that its ATA Edit: Yet, usually that size of a HDD is SATA... I dont know.. Why don't you open up your computer and look? Huge cable = ATA Small cable = SATA

Edited by IanG, 11 March 2005 - 05:20 PM.


#6 chicagobearsfan

chicagobearsfan

    Member

  • Members
  • 191 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Danville, VA



Posted 11 March 2005 - 07:03 PM

It has a small cable that is blue, it does say sata on the board where the cable connects too. How much better is raid compared to just sata

A coward dies a thousand deaths but a soldier dies but once!


#7 OceanV47

OceanV47

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 3,079 posts
  • Location:Oceanside, California



Posted 11 March 2005 - 11:43 PM

Acording to the hardware list on your system: Intel® 82801EB Ultra ATA Storage Controllers
hdc Intel Intel® 82801EB Ultra ATA Storage Controllers
You have Ultra ATA 133!

To find out for sure what you have, download this:

http://www.belarc.co...e_download.html

It is free, and a very handy tool!

#8 King_dilly

King_dilly

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Location:Clearwater



Posted 12 March 2005 - 02:35 PM

raid requires 2 hard drives..preferably identical speed and size..if you want to see the benefits..look at my results here...

http://www.pcpitstop...EX6MWJ37HQS7YE6




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users