Photo

Make Disk Image And Downgrade From Windows 7 To Xp?

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 sourmusic

sourmusic

• Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 03 July 2011 - 01:08 AM

Hi everyone- I'm hoping the experts on here can help with my dilemma. I just purchased a new laptop with Windows 7 installed, but I would like to reformat the drive and install XP instead. So my questions are... 1. How do I save Windows 7 so that it can be reinstalled at a later date if/when I choose to do so? 2. How do I reformat/prepare the drive for XP? And 3. Should I choose to reinstall 7 what would be involved? While I feel very comfortable using XP, I have no experience with Windows 7 so I don't even know where to start or how to find the most basic things. Unfortunately you'll have to spell out any instructions having to do with Windows 7. Hope someone can help me get this done! Thanks!

#2 nigsy

nigsy

Advanced Member

• Moderators
  • 3,476 posts

Posted 03 July 2011 - 01:42 AM

First up why? Why would you want to remove W7 and install an outdated OS? 1. Never tried - but I'm guessing any imaging software, Acronis etc would enable you to do this. 2. When you run the XP disc - choose to reformat the drive - be careful to make sure you delete any recovery partitions the manufacturer may have installed. 3. You'll need to wipe the drive, using something like 'Boot and Nuke' then reinstal the image. Before you try anything - check all the components for your laptop to ensure they are XP compatible. As you are aware XP is approaching the end of it's life cycle - no more security updates, also manufacturers are phasing out support for legacy system drivers. If you have a decent laptop - try running XP in Virtual Box or some other VM ware.

The South-West Will Rise Again

Mebyon Kernow - Voice Of Cornwall

#3 sourmusic

sourmusic

• Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 03 July 2011 - 01:53 AM