Jump to content


Photo

Can I Use A Flat-screen Lcd Monitor As A Tv?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 MrHappyGoLucky12

MrHappyGoLucky12

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 561 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Youngstown, OH



Posted 06 May 2011 - 09:10 PM

Can I use a flat-screen LCD monitor as a TV? There's no input on the back for a coaxial cable, but I assume it can be done via some adapter.

#2 Joe C

Joe C

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 18,957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northwestern Southeast Michigan


Posted 06 May 2011 - 09:13 PM

You can use your monitor as a tv if you install a tv tuner in your pc http://www.hauppauge...r_internal.html

#3 MrHappyGoLucky12

MrHappyGoLucky12

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 561 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Youngstown, OH



Posted 06 May 2011 - 11:51 PM

You can use your monitor as a tv if you install a tv tuner in your pc

http://www.hauppauge...r_internal.html

I want to use the monitor without a PC.

I found this: http://www.ehow.com/...ble-dvi_d.html. It says I'll need a Coaxial to RCA adapter, RCA to DVI-D adapter, DVI-D cable, and RCA cable. Are these adapters things I can find at Best Buy, Radio Shack, etc.?

#4 stormy13

stormy13

    Woof!

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 10,327 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario


Posted 07 May 2011 - 01:28 PM

Your link doesn't work. And you don't need all those cables as they won't do you any good without something to send the TV signal to the monitor. A monitor doesn't have a tuner built into it, so there is no way of changing channels. You can't just connect the cable to the monitor and watch TV. Assuming you're using cable you would need one of these (or whatever model your cable provider uses), http://www.cisco.com...top_4250HD.html or if going OTA (using an antenna) you would need something like this, http://www.newegg.co...N82E16882107075 Once you have one of those then you look at what you need to connect them together.

MS - MVP Windows Expert-Consumer 2010 - 2012


#5 MrHappyGoLucky12

MrHappyGoLucky12

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 561 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Youngstown, OH



Posted 07 May 2011 - 10:25 PM

Your link doesn't work.

And you don't need all those cables as they won't do you any good without something to send the TV signal to the monitor. A monitor doesn't have a tuner built into it, so there is no way of changing channels. You can't just connect the cable to the monitor and watch TV.

Assuming you're using cable you would need one of these (or whatever model your cable provider uses),

http://www.cisco.com...top_4250HD.html

or if going OTA (using an antenna) you would need something like this,

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16882107075

Once you have one of those then you look at what you need to connect them together.

Stormy,

This won't work? http://www.ehow.com/...able-dvi_d.html If not, do you know where I can find step-by-step instructions?

#6 nigsy

nigsy

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,560 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:devon, england


Posted 08 May 2011 - 12:59 AM

Stormy,

This won't work? http://www.ehow.com/...able-dvi_d.html If not, do you know where I can find step-by-step instructions?


That will work...but you need to check you have a coaxial OUT on the back of the TV. You are using the Tuner in the TV to send the picture to the Monitor. All this will do is replicate what you are watching on the main TV and will give you no channel control on the monitor.

I've not checked stormy's links but I'm guessing there something like a standalone box that will sit between the input signal (OTA or cable) and the monitor. We call them Freeview boxes in the UK.

But you will still some kind of adaptor to convert the coax signal into VGA/DVI unless you can get a box that has these connections or as in my sons room where the freeview box has a HDMI out and the monitor has a HDMI in.

The South-West Will Rise Again

Mebyon Kernow - Voice Of Cornwall





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users