Jump to content


Photo

unwanted Auto-tabbing issue


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 BubblyKori

BubblyKori

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 16 October 2009 - 09:46 PM

Starting in July my computer starting auto-tabbing out of programs, auto-tabbing through the page links and any blanks, auto-alt-tabbing through programs (alt-tab) frequently and randomly. Sometimes a couple of times in a few seconds,sometimes it stops after 20 minutes, other times it goes on for days. Sometimes it doesn't happen at all for a week and then it is back again.

I often have to hit Shift + alt to get programs to launch, change pages, or to click on links or just keep typing. There is no pattern as to program or what I'm doing. Sometimes it begins as I turn the computer on, other times, it happens after it's been left on for several days.

When this first started I thought the tab key was stuck or damaged, so I bought a new keyboard. This showed no change. I tried installing the program Alt-Tab Thingy in hopes it would somehow over ride the issue, that didn't help.

I have run numerous anti-spyware and anti-virus and computer cleaning programs, they all show nothing.

The anti-virus ones I have tried include:
McAfee
Panda
Spybot - Search and Destroy
SpywareBlaster
The Ultimate Troubleshooter
SUPERAntiSpyware

I have cleaned using:
CCleaner
CleanUp!
Advanced SystemCare
Glary Utilities

I have tried cleaning the registry with:
RegVac
CCLeaner
Quicksys RegCleaner 2009
Glary Utilities

I have run ScanDisk on every drive as well as De-fragmenting them multiple times, using the installed Windows Defragment as well as Defraggler and Smart Defrag.

I have searched and searched the Internet for any mention of this, but all I could find was some reference to gamers who installed BitDefender. I'm not a gamer, I'm a graphic designer and I don't have BitDefender. (http://forum.bitdefe...mode=linearplus) They didn't offer a solution in any case.

I ran HijackThis, here is my report: http://www.4shared.c...hijackthis.html

Does anyone have any idea of what could cause this or how to correct it? This is driving me insane and I can't get any work done!

Thank you for any help or suggestions!

Edited by BubblyKori, 16 October 2009 - 10:37 PM.


#2 IntelGuy

IntelGuy

    Yeah, it's pretty, but can it go fast?

  • Admins
  • 20,189 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:By the Beautiful Sea



Posted 18 October 2009 - 12:20 AM

:wp: If you are using a PS/2 keyboard, try a USB. It may be a short in the PS/2 port.

... avoid foolish controversies and ... strife and disputes ..., for they are unprofitable and worthless. Titus 3:9 NASB


#3 BubblyKori

BubblyKori

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 18 October 2009 - 11:48 AM

:wp:

If you are using a PS/2 keyboard, try a USB. It may be a short in the PS/2 port.



The old keyboard was a PS/2, the new one is a USB.

#4 BigBadBart25

BigBadBart25

    Member

  • Members
  • 184 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Erie, Pa



Posted 19 October 2009 - 05:37 PM

You should download ubuntu, or any bootable OS you can run off of a CD, and run off of it for awhile and see if the problem happens outside of windows. Then if it does, that eliminates a software issue and makes it a hardware issue. Something to try, since you have done alot of software cleaning.

Jeff


The old keyboard was a PS/2, the new one is a USB.



#5 BubblyKori

BubblyKori

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 19 October 2009 - 10:21 PM

You should download ubuntu, or any bootable OS you can run off of a CD, and run off of it for awhile and see if the problem happens outside of windows. Then if it does, that eliminates a software issue and makes it a hardware issue. Something to try, since you have done alot of software cleaning.

Jeff


Exactly how does that work? (I know how to download and burn the .iso.) I am wondering how that will work with Windows already installed. I am guessing I would choose the boot from CD option when starting up. I'm just wondering if that will try to install anything.

The last thing I want is to have to re-format and re-install everything. I have all my graphic programs and plugins that would take me weeks to get back in place. I can barely get any work done as it is, but that would really mess me up.

#6 BigBadBart25

BigBadBart25

    Member

  • Members
  • 184 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Erie, Pa



Posted 19 October 2009 - 10:34 PM

I know with UBUNTU, I will get you the link when I get home from work :P It does not install a thing on your computer. It runs entirely off the cd. You will still have access to your hardrives though. It will be a little pokey running off your cd rom or dvd rom drive, but hey it will help the troubleshooting process. So no worries there.

Jeff

Exactly how does that work? (I know how to download and burn the .iso.) I am wondering how that will work with Windows already installed. I am guessing I would choose the boot from CD option when starting up. I'm just wondering if that will try to install anything.

The last thing I want is to have to re-format and re-install everything. I have all my graphic programs and plugins that would take me weeks to get back in place. I can barely get any work done as it is, but that would really mess me up.



#7 BigBadBart25

BigBadBart25

    Member

  • Members
  • 184 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Erie, Pa



Posted 20 October 2009 - 12:18 AM

Here is the link as promised!

http://www.ubuntu.co...Ubuntu/download

Also you can do some reading on their site and see if it is for you and if you want to try it or not. Let me know how all this turns out!

Jeff


I know with UBUNTU, I will get you the link when I get home from work :P It does not install a thing on your computer. It runs entirely off the cd. You will still have access to your hardrives though. It will be a little pokey running off your cd rom or dvd rom drive, but hey it will help the troubleshooting process. So no worries there.

Jeff



#8 mme

mme

    HOMELAND SECURITY. Fighting Terrorism Since 1492

  • Advanced Member
  • 6,800 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ontario,Canada


Posted 20 October 2009 - 12:53 AM

try a different browser doesnt yahoo toolbar have tabs as well

#9 BubblyKori

BubblyKori

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 20 October 2009 - 11:06 PM

Here is the link as promised!

http://www.ubuntu.co...Ubuntu/download

Also you can do some reading on their site and see if it is for you and if you want to try it or not. Let me know how all this turns out!

Jeff



Thank you! I'll give it a try.

#10 adam22

adam22

    Open Your Mind

  • Advanced Member
  • 2,299 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey



Posted 20 October 2009 - 11:09 PM

www.wubi-installer.org

Be easier for you to use this. Installs Ubuntu inside Windows and can be removed through add/remove programs. It has nothing to do with Windows though, it's just how it is installed.

Edited by adam22, 20 October 2009 - 11:09 PM.


#11 BubblyKori

BubblyKori

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 20 October 2009 - 11:09 PM

try a different browser
doesnt yahoo toolbar have tabs as well


This happens in every program, not just one. It happens in Windows Explorer, Firefox, IE, Photoshop, Word, NotePad, my email, and more. It's any open program. It isn't the tabs in Firefox. It's as if someone was continually hitting the Tab key. Sometimes it acts as if someone were hitting Tab+Alt and it scrolls though any open programs.

Edited by BubblyKori, 20 October 2009 - 11:13 PM.


#12 mme

mme

    HOMELAND SECURITY. Fighting Terrorism Since 1492

  • Advanced Member
  • 6,800 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ontario,Canada


Posted 20 October 2009 - 11:34 PM

download and update these 2 programs
the run them one at a time
i have a question...do you play games on facebook
a lot of popups come facebook games

http://filehippo.com..._anti_malware/#

http://filehippo.com...perantispyware/


#13 BubblyKori

BubblyKori

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 20 October 2009 - 11:45 PM

download and update these 2 programs
the run them one at a time
i have a question...do you play games on facebook
a lot of popups come facebook games

http://filehippo.com..._anti_malware/#

http://filehippo.com...perantispyware/


I already have those programs installed and have run them multiple times. No, I don't play games on Facebook.

Thanks for the suggestion!

#14 mme

mme

    HOMELAND SECURITY. Fighting Terrorism Since 1492

  • Advanced Member
  • 6,800 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ontario,Canada


Posted 21 October 2009 - 12:03 AM

http://filehippo.com...oad_hijackthis/

download that one,,,,,
open it and do a system scan and save logfile
it will open up note pad
copy everything in it
and open a new topic here
in the hijackthis forum
paste your hijackthis log there

http://forums.pcpits...hp?showforum=25

they are busy so be patient dont answer until some responds to your topic

#15 BubblyKori

BubblyKori

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 21 October 2009 - 12:21 AM

http://filehippo.com...oad_hijackthis/

download that one,,,,,
open it and do a system scan and save logfile
it will open up note pad
copy everything in it
and open a new topic here
in the hijackthis forum
paste your hijackthis log there

http://forums.pcpits...hp?showforum=25

they are busy so be patient dont answer until some responds to your topic


I included the link to my HijackThis log in my original post. I'll try posting at the link you gave me too.
Thank you!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users