Jump to content


Photo

Networking Windows 7 and XP


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Y kawika

Y kawika

    Anti-Spyware Brigade

  • Admins
  • 20,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Island, New York


Posted 12 May 2009 - 10:50 PM

I know that this works on a 32 bit install since that's what I am using, but do not know about a 64 bit install. [color=#0000FF;]update, it works just the same with 64 bit[/color]

Windows 7 and Vista use a protocol known as a "Link-Layer Topology Discovery (LLTD) Responder" component. The LLTD component is not preinstalled in XP.

Although XP can be successfully networked with Vista and Windows 7 without it, I found that it has made the experience easier and more reliable to install LLTD to XP. What it does is permit the XP computers to be readily discovered on the network and "show up" in the network map (Network Folder) in Vista and Windows 7, provided that you are using the same Workgroup name and have File and Printer sharing enabled.

There are 2 different means to achieve this, depending on what Service Pack your install of XP is using.

If you are running XP with SP2, then you can download and install the LLTD component here: http://www.microsoft...;displaylang=en

If you are running XP with SP3, then a Hotfix is needed which can be downloaded here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922120

To check that each of your computers has the LLTD protocol running, in the Networking Folder on each computer, right click the networking adapter that you use and choose Properties. Look in the list for "Link-Layer Topology Discovery Responder".
If it isn't listed, then click Add, then Protocol. Highlight Microsoft, then click the LLTD entry. If it's not there, then you are on an XP machine and it needs to be installed.

A few other helpful links are listed below from the Hotfix page:

How to troubleshoot network connection problems
http://windowshelp.m...b8d0a81033.mspx (http://windowshelp.m...b8d0a81033.mspx)

Windows Vista networking
http://windowshelp.m...networking.mspx (http://windowshelp.m...networking.mspx)


File and printer sharing in Windows Vista
http://technet.micro...y/bb727037.aspx (http://technet.micro...y/bb727037.aspx)

How to share and to set permissions for folders and for files by using Windows XP
http://technet.micro...y/bb456988.aspx (http://technet.micro...y/bb456988.aspx)

View computers and devices on a network
http://windowshelp.m...322da91033.mspx

:) Y


Edited by Y kawika, 02 February 2013 - 04:11 PM.
update

Y kawika's Computers and Stuff

Post When You Want and Help When You Can..........Y


#2 el kido

el kido

    yes!

  • Advanced Member
  • 5,543 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Corona, CA


Posted 12 May 2009 - 11:44 PM

Thanks for the info Y! I havent had an issue yet but I am sure this will come up when people google :tup:

CPU---------------Intel I7 2600k @ 4.4ghz daily Case--------------Xigmatek Elysium HD----------------G. Skill Nuetron GTX 240gb SSD GPU--------------Nvidia GTX 680 PSU---------------Corsair TX750
Motherboard-----EVGA P67 FTW RAM--------------8GB G. Skill Ripjaw X DDR3 @ 2133 Cooling----------EK Supreme HF, MCR320, MCP355 with top.


#3 ByGeorge

ByGeorge

    GA965P, 3K HT P4, 7900GS, 4 Gig RAM

  • Advanced Member
  • 1,373 posts
  • Location:Brisbane, Queensland, Australia



Posted 16 May 2009 - 11:45 PM

I have the RC on AMD64 3500+ with a gig of RAM. SATA drivers were a pain, but the network is what is causing me grief. I start up and it always sets the network as public that I'm accessing, and takes a bugger of a time to fix itself. I can't seem to see the normal "repair" option on the adapter properties either. I found installing drivers in XP SP2 compatability mode worked when no other way appeared to work. Network, SATA & on-board sound drivers do not have even vista drivers issued. I hate rebooting, it is a real frustration every time to be able to see the correct network, then get access to the net. Once it goes through the self repair sequence, sometimes two times, it all seems good again. Why does it forget who it is? Once I'm in, the network shares are all there, accessible, and so is this machine from them. I did manage a few settings in the home folfer options. Oh well, beta tester I am, and suffer my own consequences, lol. :)

Edited by ByGeorge, 16 May 2009 - 11:47 PM.


#4 Y kawika

Y kawika

    Anti-Spyware Brigade

  • Admins
  • 20,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Island, New York


Posted 29 May 2009 - 07:09 PM

Well, ByGeorge, I don't think that it's the drivers, if you can access the internet even though the network is being set as public. I don't know if this will help, but give it a try and see if there is any relief.

Set the Workgroup name to anything, but HOME, on all of the computers in the network. Just make sure that it is the same name used for all, of course. I got creative and chose WORKGROUP for mine. :lol:

In the Network and Sharing Center under "View your active networks", if it doesn't say "Work Network", then click it. Now click "Work Network" in the center there, then Close (at the bottom).

Now, we're back at the Network and Sharing Center. On the left, click on Change Advanced Sharing Settings.

These are the items that I have active under Home or Work (Current Profile):*Turn on Network Discovery
*Turn on file and printer sharing
*Turn on sharing so anyone with network access can read and write files in the Public folders
*Media streaming is off
*Use 128-bit encryption to help protect file sharing connections
*Turn off password protected sharing
*Use user accounts and passwords to connect to other computers
Click Save Changes at the bottom and reboot the rig.

This is what is working nicely here and with the LLTD component installed on the XP computers, everyone can access shared files more conveniently.

:)Y

Y kawika's Computers and Stuff

Post When You Want and Help When You Can..........Y


#5 tlowe65

tlowe65

    New Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 01 August 2009 - 12:04 AM

'Y kawika- thanks for making it simple i just installed windows 7 and was trying to get my two comps to see each other it all comes down to not letting windows manage the connection i dont know why all the other techheads are trying to make it complicated but you nailed it

#6 EclipseWebJS2

EclipseWebJS2

    BOOST POWER!

  • Advanced Member
  • 3,696 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northeast Kansas


Posted 01 November 2009 - 07:49 AM

Does it matter which operating system class the XP machine you're using (XP Home edition, XP Professional, XP 64)? But what if the "network" is connected wirelessly? I did mine this way because I don't want a long :filtered: cable running alongside the house where it'll likely get eaten by a mouse.

Edited by EclipseWebJS2, 01 November 2009 - 07:55 AM.

EclipseWebJS2 } Save the Internet | OpenDNSMove, schnell! }


#7 nigsy

nigsy

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 3,516 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:devon, england


Posted 04 November 2009 - 02:52 AM

Does it matter which operating system class the XP machine you're using (XP Home edition, XP Professional, XP 64)?

But what if the "network" is connected wirelessly? I did mine this way because I don't want a long :filtered: cable running alongside the house where it'll likely get eaten by a mouse.


I have XP 32bit on a wireless connection and W7 64bit wired to the router.
The easiest way to connect the two and be able to network them was to share the root of the C:/ on the XP machine and allow all users to view and ammend files. (If you have other drives or partitions you will need to change them as well).

The South-West Will Rise Again

Mebyon Kernow - Voice Of Cornwall


#8 PhilBon

PhilBon

    New Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 September 2012 - 03:29 PM

Hello Y, I just want to thank you - this works great! I have a Windows 7 laptop and I couldn't see my Windows XP desktop whatever settings I tried. The suggestions I originally found didn't fix it: "disable IPv6 on you network adapter" or "use WORKGROUP as the name for the network". But downloading the Hotfix for XP running SP3, as you recommended, did work!!! (Listed on the Microsoft support website as "Network Map in Windows Vista does not display computers that are running Windows XP".) Keep up the good work. PB

#9 Y kawika

Y kawika

    Anti-Spyware Brigade

  • Admins
  • 20,067 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Long Island, New York


Posted 02 September 2012 - 03:57 PM

Cheers PhilBon :cheers: Happy to hear that you got it sorted and working properly for you. :tup: :) Y

Y kawika's Computers and Stuff

Post When You Want and Help When You Can..........Y





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users