Removing all traces of ad aware?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 pcuseless

pcuseless

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 04 October 2007 - 11:51 AM

Hello! I recently bought some McAffee virus software (bad or good idea I don't know, I'm not very good with knowledge on what's best). As I tried to install it, it told me that it couldn't work along side Ad Aware. So I removed the ad aware program and all traces of it that i could find. Whenever I try to install it now it tells me I still have ad aware on my pc. I cannot find a trace of it anywhere. Could it be hiding anywhere, and if so how do I remove it? Any help would be very gratefully received! Thanks alot!

#2 Juliet

Juliet

Advanced Member

• Trusted Malware Techs
  • 21,914 posts

Posted 04 October 2007 - 12:09 PM

After you uninstalled it via the Add/Remove programs panel, did you reboot?

If it's Ad-Aware 2007 try this in case there are any left over files/folders.

Please ensure Hidden files and folders are viewable:

Go to My Computer->Tools->Folder Options->View tab:
* Under the Hidden files and folders heading:
* select Show hidden files and folders.
* Uncheck Hide protected operating system files (recommended) option.
*Also, make sure there is no checkmark beside Hide file extensions for known file types.
* Click OK.

Using Windows Explorer (right-click your "Start" button and select "Explore"), please navigate to and delete the following Files and Folders (if they exist):

C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware 2007\aawservice.exe
C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-Aware 2007

Reboot and try to install McAffee again.
Please do not PM me for HJT help, we all benefit from posting on the open board.
Sometimes the angels fly close enough to you that you can hear the flutter of their wings..
MS - MVP Consumer Security 2009 - 2013

#3 pcuseless

pcuseless

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 04 October 2007 - 12:53 PM