Jump to content


Photo

Cant OPEN INTERNET OPTIONS Please Help


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 trishh

trishh

    New Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 03:56 AM

Hi all, I am new here, and I am having BIG problems I cant open Internet Options and I cant download anything, just wont start. Does any one know what I can do. I tried using the scan from this site but could not download it. The page said to open Internet Options and I cant. Please help me :pullhair:

#2 IntelGuy

IntelGuy

    Yeah, it's pretty, but can it go fast?

  • Admins
  • 20,226 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:By the Beautiful Sea



Posted 13 February 2007 - 04:03 AM

:wp:

I'm moving this to User to User Help.

Are you running Windows XP? How long has the problem been around? Have you tried a Windows System Restore to a point prior to when the problem began?

Have you scanned for malware? Are you able to download the control? http://www.pcpitstop...ycheck/scan.asp

... avoid foolish controversies and ... strife and disputes ..., for they are unprofitable and worthless. Titus 3:9 NASB


#3 trishh

trishh

    New Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 04:46 AM

:wp:

I'm moving this to User to User Help.

Are you running Windows XP? How long has the problem been around? Have you tried a Windows System Restore to a point prior to when the problem began?

Have you scanned for malware? Are you able to download the control? http://www.pcpitstop...ycheck/scan.asp



#4 trishh

trishh

    New Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 04:49 AM

Hi I am running Windows XP. I have done system restore and no luck. I cant download from PC Pitstop scan. I have scanned my computer. I also have no toolbars on the IE Page, No favourites, history or Tools menu, does this have anything to do with it. The are just gone, I cant find them

#5 RAH

RAH

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 3,487 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Holiday, Florida



Posted 13 February 2007 - 06:08 AM

This type of thing is usually caused by virus/adware. This involves use "REGEDIT" Be very careful, and make a back up first. Save it to your documents or desk top. 1. Start -> Run 2. Type regedit and click "OK" 3. Scroll to the top and double-click the HKEY_CURRENT_USER folder to open it. 4. Under HKEY_CURRENT_USER, double-click Software. 5. Under Software, double-click Policies. 6. Under Policies, double-click Microsoft. 7. Under Microsoft, double-click Internet Explorer. If you don't see Internet Explorer, skip to step 10. 8. Under Internet Explorer, double-click Restrictions. If you don't see Restrictions, skip to step 10. 9. You should see a key called NoBrowserOptions, with the value 1. Hold down the right mouse button over NoBrowserOptions to display a menu. Choose "Delete" from that menu and confirm. If you don't see NoBrowserOptions, skip to step 10. 10. Repeat steps 1-9, but this time start with HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE instead of HKEY_CURRENT_USER

Edited by RAH, 13 February 2007 - 06:09 AM.


#6 trishh

trishh

    New Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 08:38 AM

This type of thing is usually caused by virus/adware.

This involves use "REGEDIT"
Be very careful, and make a back up first.
Save it to your documents or desk top.
1. Start -> Run
2. Type regedit and click "OK"
3. Scroll to the top and double-click the HKEY_CURRENT_USER folder
to open it.
4. Under HKEY_CURRENT_USER, double-click Software.
5. Under Software, double-click Policies.
6. Under Policies, double-click Microsoft.
7. Under Microsoft, double-click Internet Explorer. If you don't
see Internet Explorer, skip to step 10.
8. Under Internet Explorer, double-click Restrictions. If you don't
see Restrictions, skip to step 10.
9. You should see a key called NoBrowserOptions, with the value 1.
Hold down the right mouse button over NoBrowserOptions to display a
menu. Choose "Delete" from that menu and confirm. If you don't see
NoBrowserOptions, skip to step 10.
10. Repeat steps 1-9, but this time start with HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
instead of HKEY_CURRENT_USER



#7 trishh

trishh

    New Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 08:42 AM

Hi, Thanks Just tried that but there is NO Internet Explorer in HKEY.LOCAL or HKEY_CURRENT_USER. WOW I think I really have broken it this time. It seems to be a lot of little things, I have just discovered I cant cut and paste either. Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

#8 mme

mme

    HOMELAND SECURITY. Fighting Terrorism Since 1492

  • Advanced Member
  • 6,802 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ontario,Canada


Posted 13 February 2007 - 08:51 AM

do you have your xp disk you could do a repair with the disk

#9 trishh

trishh

    New Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 08:58 AM

do you have your xp disk
you could do a repair with the disk



#10 trishh

trishh

    New Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 13 February 2007 - 09:00 AM

Unfortunately NO. I bought the computer with a registered version of XP on it. But no disk

#11 mme

mme

    HOMELAND SECURITY. Fighting Terrorism Since 1492

  • Advanced Member
  • 6,802 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Ontario,Canada


Posted 13 February 2007 - 09:05 AM

can you borrow one with same version and product key you wont lose any data but you will have to update from microsoft

Edited by mme, 13 February 2007 - 09:06 AM.


#12 RAH

RAH

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 3,487 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Holiday, Florida



Posted 13 February 2007 - 09:18 AM

DL Belarc Advisor and run

It will create a file, here "c:\program files\belarc\advisor\system\tmp\(COMPUTERNAME).html "
scroll down and the CD code will be listed.
Copy it down.

If you can get hold of a CD, you can use this code to repair/install

Here's one guide to how:
http://www.programme...n/repair_xp.php




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users