Jump to content


Photo

Accessing Compaq Recovery partition


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 kd5

kd5

    Format Junky and

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 15,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio, USA


Posted 17 August 2006 - 06:02 PM

Is there any way to take advantage of the Recovery partition on a Compaq without Recovery software or any shortcuts within Windows? Got a computer here with Windows ME, most of the shortcuts are worthless, alot of them (including the shortcut to the Compaq Utilities) are missing altogether, even if the shortcuts were there, the software they reference would probably be corrupted. Got a Recovery partition and no way to find what I need to actually execute a Recovery. -kd5-
Time is the fire in which we burn. (Soran)

#2 Joe C

Joe C

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 18,957 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northwestern Southeast Michigan


Posted 17 August 2006 - 06:10 PM

F10 key during boot might work for ya

#3 kd5

kd5

    Format Junky and

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 15,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio, USA


Posted 17 August 2006 - 06:25 PM

I wish... :crash: -kd5-
Time is the fire in which we burn. (Soran)

#4 PORTHOS

PORTHOS

    Format and be done with it already

  • Advanced Member
  • 3,131 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Antonio TX.



Posted 17 August 2006 - 06:28 PM

What model? I have a compaq restore disk that triggers the restore on win 98 or ME.

#5 kd5

kd5

    Format Junky and

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 15,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio, USA


Posted 17 August 2006 - 06:35 PM

It's a 5000 series, model# 5WV254 upgraded to a 1.8ghz AMD AthlonXP 2200+, 512mb of RAM, Windows ME. -kd5-
Time is the fire in which we burn. (Soran)

#6 mouse

mouse

    Advanced Member

  • The SWAT Team
  • 9,331 posts

Posted 17 August 2006 - 06:51 PM

Did you try to just burn the software off the recovery partition as an ISO/bootable cd? If the shortcuts were working it's a pretty simple process even I was able to make it work :crash:

#7 Jo-Ann

Jo-Ann

    Member

  • Members
  • 295 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:WV


Posted 17 August 2006 - 07:05 PM

Did you try to just burn the software off the recovery partition as an ISO/bootable cd?
If the shortcuts were working it's a pretty simple process even I was able to make it work :crash:







my compaq uses F11 on startup....... reboot and when you see the compaq logo
hit F11........ however my computer is only 4 months old..

Jo Ann

Edited by Jo-Ann, 17 August 2006 - 07:08 PM.


#8 kd5

kd5

    Format Junky and

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 15,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio, USA


Posted 17 August 2006 - 07:13 PM

This computer doesn't even have a CD-R/W drive, only a CDROM. I honestly don't feel like taking the time to put a CD-R/W in there to burn an ISO of a potentially corrupted Recovery Partition. I've already tried to access it once using a file I found that's intended to give me access to it, but it wouldn't work which suggests to me that the Recovery partition is just as corrupted as the rest of this operating system is. The customer lost his Recovery software, apparently he doesn't even know about this Recovery partition, I'm to the point now where I'm ready to make him a workable computer MY WAY... ;) -kd5-
Time is the fire in which we burn. (Soran)

#9 kd5

kd5

    Format Junky and

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 15,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio, USA


Posted 17 August 2006 - 07:15 PM

Oh, and F11 didn't work... ;) -kd5-
Time is the fire in which we burn. (Soran)

#10 mouse

mouse

    Advanced Member

  • The SWAT Team
  • 9,331 posts

Posted 18 August 2006 - 12:49 AM

Keith I keep an external cd/dvd writer around for times like this but the only way the recovery partition is screwed up is if he wrote something to it. Very likely didn't get any recovery software since compaq provides a way to make recovery cds from the system. Have you checked Compaq's web site for this type of problem (I know that's dumb question) but they might have a solution.

#11 kd5

kd5

    Format Junky and

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 15,016 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio, USA


Posted 18 August 2006 - 07:23 AM

This is what I found out in a blinding flash of comprehension last night: This isn't even a Compaq anymore. This guy had numerous upgrades done including a new motherboard, processor, added memory, the only things he/they didn't change were the 20gb hard drive, the power supply, and changing out the CDROM drive for something that they might have actually got something accomplished using. This wasn't even a Compaq anymore, that Recovery partition would not have worked anyway. Probably why it didn't want to work with that Recovery file I found. Weird what you see when you open your eyes... :blushing: -kd5-
Time is the fire in which we burn. (Soran)

#12 rose.z.y

rose.z.y

    New Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 August 2006 - 08:48 PM

May be you could try Partition Table Doctor .
Run the program and select "Rebuild Partition Table",
then choose "Interactive" mode. If you can find the partition
you need, that is Partition Table Doctor can help you.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users