Jump to content


Photo

internet speed improvement


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 miggs78

miggs78

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 3,769 posts
  • Location:Alberta, Canada


Posted 07 June 2006 - 01:20 AM

first download this program http://www.speedguid...CPOptimizer.exe

once downloaded, open the program, and go to the Largest MTU tab, and start the test, when it finishes it will tell you how much you can set your MTU too. Then go back to the General Settings tab and select Optimal settings (somewhere in the bottom right). Once done change your MTU to whatever the test calculated, secondly find out the max speed of your internet service, whats the max speed your internet provider gives (mine is 7mbps), once done, just drag the bar to whatever your internet speed is (so mine is like 7mbps = 7000kbps). Finally click on apply changes, another box will open, please please tick the backup check box, and click on OK button. It will ask you to reboot, just reboot, and you will see a good increase in your internet speed.

I strongly suggest you close any p2p or bittorrent programs in the background.

Thats all for now, hope it boosts your connection speed, it did mine. Thanks :)

#2 miggs78

miggs78

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 3,769 posts
  • Location:Alberta, Canada


Posted 07 June 2006 - 12:58 PM

wow already 5 out of 5, and no reply, something not right. I believe the mods have done this, dunno why.

#3 Web Police

Web Police

    Wooby dooby doooo!!!

  • Advanced Member
  • 3,764 posts

Posted 07 June 2006 - 01:05 PM

Hey Miggsy how ya doing. :adios: Ahhh nobody had time to take away the stars yet. :P

Edited by Web Police, 07 June 2006 - 01:05 PM.


#4 miggs78

miggs78

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 3,769 posts
  • Location:Alberta, Canada


Posted 07 June 2006 - 03:19 PM

Hey Miggsy how ya doing. :adios: Ahhh nobody had time to take away the stars yet. :P



hey webbbyy i'm good, do you mean to say my post is useless

#5 IntelGuy

IntelGuy

    Yeah, it's pretty, but can it go fast?

  • Admins
  • 20,144 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:By the Beautiful Sea



Posted 07 June 2006 - 07:08 PM

Webby's just yanking your chain, miggs. He's a great guy. :P He's just teasing you some. Your thread's had 70 views already. My guess is one of them gave your post the stars. :)

... avoid foolish controversies and ... strife and disputes ..., for they are unprofitable and worthless. Titus 3:9 NASB


#6 miggs78

miggs78

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 3,769 posts
  • Location:Alberta, Canada


Posted 07 June 2006 - 07:59 PM

Webby's just yanking your chain, miggs. He's a great guy. :P He's just teasing you some.

Your thread's had 70 views already. My guess is one of them gave your post the stars. :)


oh well thanks man, I will pulling his tail too lol, when I told him my post is useless lol. Hey I_G hope you got my PM.

Well, now I will tell mummy than your teasing me :hammer: :lol: :P

Thanks alot.

#7 strukt

strukt

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 1,613 posts
  • Location:Ontario



Posted 07 June 2006 - 08:43 PM

These internet "speed tweaks" never work for me... none of them have even changed my speed one bit.

Edited by strukt, 07 June 2006 - 08:45 PM.


#8 Web Police

Web Police

    Wooby dooby doooo!!!

  • Advanced Member
  • 3,764 posts

Posted 07 June 2006 - 08:48 PM

Just yanking your memory stick Miggsy. :P Don't take it personally. Good tip! :)

#9 Web Police

Web Police

    Wooby dooby doooo!!!

  • Advanced Member
  • 3,764 posts

Posted 07 June 2006 - 08:57 PM

Well I wouldda yanked his chain but ya never know where that's been. :P

#10 strukt

strukt

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 1,613 posts
  • Location:Ontario



Posted 07 June 2006 - 09:01 PM

Well I wouldda yanked his chain but ya never know where that's been. :P


lets not ask :nono: :clap:

#11 dasudevil

dasudevil

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 422 posts

Posted 09 June 2006 - 05:22 PM

Nice tip however where would i be able to find the speed of my net provider? This is a work pc i am using BTW please help

#12 miggs78

miggs78

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 3,769 posts
  • Location:Alberta, Canada


Posted 09 June 2006 - 05:58 PM

Nice tip however where would i be able to find the speed of my net provider? This is a work pc i am using BTW please help


umm.. if you check with ur provider, give them a call, tell them i'm just inquiring, they will give to you.

#13 dasudevil

dasudevil

    Advanced Member

  • Advanced Member
  • 422 posts

Posted 09 June 2006 - 06:09 PM

I would have no clue who our provider is. Is there something i can find on the net with a download or something?

#14 rollin64

rollin64

    New Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male


Posted 23 June 2006 - 01:59 PM

"once downloaded, open the program, and go to the Largest MTU tab, and start the test, when it finishes it will tell you how much you can set your MTU too" i've used tcp opt. a few times but everytime i run the test it says.....(Couldn't determine largest possible MTU due to packets being lost.You might want to try a different URL) any suggestions?

Edited by rollin64, 23 June 2006 - 02:00 PM.


#15 huskerfan2006

huskerfan2006

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 25 June 2006 - 05:32 PM

The best way to optimize is by using DR TCP

#16 flewpastu

flewpastu

    Waiting for Lotto

  • Advanced Member
  • 8,129 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Florida ( native new yorker )



Posted 25 June 2006 - 08:12 PM

I would have no clue who our provider is. Is there something i can find on the net with a download or something?


you can D/L this MYSPEED it will measure your internet speeed .... you can do a before and after to see how the tweak worked

i installed myspeed on mine tested at 3800kb aprox . next day i was gettin brighthouse digital ( Upgrade ) and speed jumped to 7000kb .. gonna try the tweak and let ya know . although at that speed i dont think i'll notice any improvement

#17 Jacee

Jacee

    Madam Admin <aka> Maude

  • Admins
  • 27,722 posts
  • Gender:Female


Posted 28 June 2006 - 05:18 PM

My dial-up is capped :( 52 kbps

MS - MVP Consumer Security 2006 thru 2014


#18 GodfreyOuwens

GodfreyOuwens

    Here I am, I found me...

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 1,441 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin the Frozen Tundra ( on Weekends )


Posted 28 June 2006 - 05:23 PM

My dial-up is capped :( 52 kbps


52 is pretty good.. How far are you from your isp? I'm out here in the boonies and my dial up maxed out to 23.3 ..... so I forked overthe money for satellite...

#19 Jacee

Jacee

    Madam Admin <aka> Maude

  • Admins
  • 27,722 posts
  • Gender:Female


Posted 28 June 2006 - 06:53 PM

I'm a few states away from my ISP, and yes I do know that I'm fortunate enough to have dial-up at that speed <---lol! Speed :laughing:

MS - MVP Consumer Security 2006 thru 2014


#20 ineedhelpregularly21

ineedhelpregularly21

    SFRECONLRRPOMFGD33LTA

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 2,994 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philippines


Posted 10 July 2006 - 06:20 AM

0% improvement in speed
MSDNAA member




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users