Jump to content


Photo

Win 98 New Install


  • Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

#1 CowboyMike

CowboyMike

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California


Posted 19 September 2005 - 12:43 AM

Hello all again! I have a new issue of WIndows 98. I installed on my other computer clean new Win 98 and can get online with it how ever it says errors after errors and can get on the Windows web site how ever with errors so I would like to know what to do about this and how do I update win 98. This OS is so :geezer: I do not rememeber the tricks need a little help. P.S. This is a back up computer for my main computer through a linksys router :lol: In case I ever need to back up and deltree my OS :shifty:

There is no such thing as a DUMB question as the person who never asks is DUMB! 


#2 dickster

dickster

    Just trying to fit in.

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 14,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas



Posted 19 September 2005 - 12:48 AM

So, if you can get online, what's the problem? To get updates, in IE click tools>windows update.

It should scan your pc. Download all the service packs and critical updates.

If that doesn't work, should be able to find them HERE
Make four wishes for yourself and work towards making them happen.

#3 CowboyMike

CowboyMike

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California


Posted 19 September 2005 - 01:14 AM

So, if you can get online, what's the problem? To get updates, in IE click tools>windows update.

It should scan your pc. Download all the service packs and critical updates.

If that doesn't work, should be able to find them HERE

Here is the error I getwhen I click to update windows

Internet Explorer Scrip Error
Line 521
Char 1
Error Syntax error
Code 0

There is no such thing as a DUMB question as the person who never asks is DUMB! 


#4 CowboyMike

CowboyMike

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California


Posted 19 September 2005 - 01:18 AM

I can not even stay on itsay after booting me Explorer This program has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down

There is no such thing as a DUMB question as the person who never asks is DUMB! 


#5 CowboyMike

CowboyMike

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California


Posted 19 September 2005 - 01:25 AM

Hello all again! I have a new issue of WIndows 98. I installed on my other computer clean new Win 98 and can get online with it how ever it says errors after errors and can get on the Windows web site how ever with errors so I would like to know what to do about this and how do I update win 98. This OS is so :geezer: I do not rememeber the tricks need a little help.
P.S. This is a back up computer for my main computer through a linksys router :lol: In case I ever need to back up and deltree my OS :shifty:

P.S. I have a Linksys router conecting both computers as well as this one gets online how ever have no way to send or transfear files

There is no such thing as a DUMB question as the person who never asks is DUMB! 


#6 dickster

dickster

    Just trying to fit in.

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 14,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas



Posted 19 September 2005 - 01:27 AM

I'm having a bit of a problem understanding here. So you can, or can't get online? If not, what kind of errors are you getting? And what kind of connection? DSL,Cable?
Make four wishes for yourself and work towards making them happen.

#7 CowboyMike

CowboyMike

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California


Posted 19 September 2005 - 01:32 AM

My bad, sorry about that. If I connect straight to the internet I still have problems from my cable internet modem. When I connect to my router I still get them. I can get on line eather method I use. I keep getting script errors and says This program has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down.

There is no such thing as a DUMB question as the person who never asks is DUMB! 


#8 dickster

dickster

    Just trying to fit in.

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 14,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas



Posted 19 September 2005 - 01:48 AM

Ok. Lets try this. Open IE and click tools>internet options>advanced. Scrool down and disable script debugging. Reboot and see if this helps.
Make four wishes for yourself and work towards making them happen.

#9 CowboyMike

CowboyMike

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California


Posted 19 September 2005 - 01:50 AM

Alow me to clearthis up a little bit sorry for the lack of info. This computer is old and going to be used ofr a back up/get on line check email computer nothing much more. So I installed windows 98 the OS that belongs on it as it is to old for newer OS's do to it's slowness. How ever that is fine with me as I said it is also a back up if need be for what ever purpusses. With that said I have not added any new progies or updates as I can not doing do to the issues as I stated prier at hand. Hope that helps a little. Also I connect to the internet through a D Link eathernet card not on boar or usb.

There is no such thing as a DUMB question as the person who never asks is DUMB! 


#10 CowboyMike

CowboyMike

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California


Posted 19 September 2005 - 01:56 AM

Hello! Here I am on the win 98 cou it worked some what! lol still getting them some what.

There is no such thing as a DUMB question as the person who never asks is DUMB! 


#11 dickster

dickster

    Just trying to fit in.

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 14,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas



Posted 19 September 2005 - 01:59 AM

Nice to see ya. :lol: Now run a test and post the results. Lets dial this old thing in. :tup:
Make four wishes for yourself and work towards making them happen.

#12 CowboyMike

CowboyMike

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California


Posted 19 September 2005 - 02:03 AM

Nice to see ya. :lol:

Now run a test and post the results. Lets dial this old thing in.

:tup:

Great brb then give me a few to this with the stone age cpu lol :beer:

There is no such thing as a DUMB question as the person who never asks is DUMB! 


#13 dickster

dickster

    Just trying to fit in.

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 14,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas



Posted 19 September 2005 - 02:12 AM

Be here for a while. :)
Make four wishes for yourself and work towards making them happen.

#14 CowboyMike

CowboyMike

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California


Posted 19 September 2005 - 02:16 AM

Be here for a while. :)

Same here lol! Justdid IE 6 install running pit test brb

There is no such thing as a DUMB question as the person who never asks is DUMB! 


#15 CowboyMike

CowboyMike

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California


Posted 19 September 2005 - 02:20 AM

http://www.pcpitstop...HAVNWDK91CSML0U

There is the test and thanks for the time

There is no such thing as a DUMB question as the person who never asks is DUMB! 


#16 dickster

dickster

    Just trying to fit in.

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 14,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas



Posted 19 September 2005 - 02:24 AM

Can't do jack about the memory right now, but click each of the other tips and follow the instructions to fix the problems. Main one being defragment! Once done, post a new test.
Make four wishes for yourself and work towards making them happen.

#17 CowboyMike

CowboyMike

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California


Posted 19 September 2005 - 02:27 AM

Ok! will do so brb

There is no such thing as a DUMB question as the person who never asks is DUMB! 


#18 CowboyMike

CowboyMike

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California


Posted 19 September 2005 - 02:48 AM

ok defragged and retested gere it is

http://www.pcpitstop...HAVNWDK91CSML0U

There is no such thing as a DUMB question as the person who never asks is DUMB! 


#19 dickster

dickster

    Just trying to fit in.

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 14,527 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas



Posted 19 September 2005 - 03:01 AM

Looks the same. Try using another defrag tool. Here's a good FREE one.

http://www.boostware...eeper_lite.html
Make four wishes for yourself and work towards making them happen.

#20 CowboyMike

CowboyMike

    Advanced Member

  • Anti-Spyware Brigade
  • 726 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California


Posted 19 September 2005 - 03:04 AM

Looks the same. Try using another defrag tool. Here's a good FREE one.

http://www.boostware...eeper_lite.html

LOL that is what I used was DK lite I will try again

There is no such thing as a DUMB question as the person who never asks is DUMB! 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users